Shake it off

I planned to sit down this evening and write a sickeningly joyful post about what a great week I’ve had.

Then I had a stupid argument with someone this afternoon (no, not about The Dress, although we argued about that too), and it ruined my good mood. For several hours, I was really angry – not just with the person I fell out with, but with myself for being upset by the situation. And that rage extended to anyone who got in my way on the tube, and the guy who kept elbowing me on the train home, and my noisy upstairs neighbours. And their dog.

But then I realised: I’ve still had a brilliant week. One bad thing doesn’t cancel out all the good things that have happened, so why should I let one silly disagreement stop me being in a good mood? It’s too easy to do that sometimes, I think. With that in mind, I made a cup of tea, put on some Les Mis to drown out the noisy neighbours, and sat down to do what I’d planned.

So what was so great about this week? Well it was mostly because I had three fantastic trips to the theatre, two of which were thanks to the lovely people at London Theatre Direct. I’ve been a member of their blogging team for a few months now, and it’s one of the best things I’ve ever done (and not only because I get free theatre tickets). Anyone who’s ever been published on someone else’s blog or website will know that little buzz you get seeing your words in print and sharing your passion with a wider audience. After all, isn’t that why we write in the first place? Not just that, but I’ve started a little theatre club with the girls from work, made friends with other theatre fans on Twitter and watched some fab shows I might not otherwise have had a chance to see.

Anyway, the three this Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday included two of my all-time favourite musicals, Miss Saigon and Once, and my first visit to see Jersey Boys. And I’ve got one more tomorrow at the Polka Theatre in Wimbledon, where a friend’s appearing in a show called Yeh Shen. Watch this space for a review.

3 days of theatre

You might think that sounds like a bit too much theatre in one week, but not for me. I loved every second, and as shattered as I was by the time I got home on Wednesday, it was totally worth it. I actually felt a little bit bereft on Thursday when I didn’t have a show to go to. Earlier in the week, one of my colleagues accused me of turning into a luvvie. I took it as a compliment.

On top of that, I got to spend two lovely evenings with my mum, and to catch up with some friends, one of whom I haven’t seen for months. Oh, and today, there was cake. (I’m very easily pleased.)

Don’t let one bad moment ruin a great week. I never thought I’d quote Taylor Swift in a blog post, but  sometimes you really do have to shake it off.

Oh and by the way, the dress is clearly blue and black.

11 thoughts on “Shake it off

  1. Ah, three musicals, that is my kind of week! I haven’t seen Miss Saigon but it’s top of my list – the other two are amazing. Definitely don’t let one argument spoil a week like that!

    1. It was a lot of fun! And by the way thanks for the Jersey Boys recommendation, I loved it 🙂 Miss Saigon is stunning, I already want to see it again! Be prepared to cry though 😉

  2. Sounds like a fab week! You are so lucky getting free theatre tickets – I’ve not been for ages and you’ve given me the excitement of wanting to go again. If it makes your week seem better – I almost got electrocuted and then had to deliver a training session to a group of lawyers with a hole in the crotch of my suit trousers…no joke!

    1. I know, I’m very lucky and trying not to take it for granted! 🙂 Hope you make it to the theatre soon, any thoughts on what you might see?

      Sorry to hear about your bad week too, how did you nearly get electrocuted?! Hope nobody noticed the hole… 😉

      1. I love musicals so I really want to see The Bodyguard or Wicked as they are both coming to town. Faulty adaptor blew up – bang, flash and burny smell. I think I got away with the hole although it did restrict my movements as I was parandoid about making it bigger lol oooerr

Leave a comment