Happy World Emoji Day!

Happy World Emoji Day! ๐Ÿ˜„

I’m an unashamed fan of emoji, and use them all the time. Maybe that makes me lazy, but sometimes you just need that little something to help express your tone when you’re emailing or texting someone. Sometimes it’s quicker than writing actual words (because time is money and all that). And sometimes it’s just fun.

Anyway, I didn’t realise there was such a thing as World Emoji Day until earlier this week. I’m not even sure if it existed before this year, to be honest, but that’s not really the point. The point is, it gave us an excuse to write cryptic tweets and make emoji cupcakes. Like these. emoji cupcakesThe reason it’s today, by the way, is because the calendar icon (on iOS at least; I hear the Android users of the world are missing out) shows July 17th. Except on Twitter, where it’s July 15th, for reasons nobody really understands.

Have you ever looked at the full range of emoji on offer? Some of them are weird. Like this one – who uses this one? ๐Ÿ’‰ (Actually, I’m not sure I want to know.)

Today I learnt that this ๐Ÿ”ฐ is the Japanese symbol for beginner (like British L plates for learner drivers). So there you go.

Some of them I have no idea about. Like these: ๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜‘๐Ÿ˜ฑ

And some I use far too much. Like these: ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽญ

Apparently we’re getting 38 new emoji in 2016. I don’t know if this is just a rumour or really happening, but we can only hope. And then get ready for lots of texts, emails and blog posts about bacon, carrots and ducks. Just because I can.

๐Ÿ˜€๐ŸŒ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿฐ๐Ÿนโ˜€๏ธ

3 thoughts on “Happy World Emoji Day!

Leave a comment